an ironic first recipe

Welcome to my blog! I am excited to have finally gotten up the courage to create this wordpress account and start writing! The reason I say “courage” is because I was actually really nervous to begin this little endeavor.  Every time I would throw around the idea of starting a food blog, my family and my boyfriend, Mike, were so supportive and encouraging.  They thought it was a great idea, but I still had my reservations.  It’s always been the same for me: I get really excited to start a project, but then it does not turn out as well as I had hoped.  I did not want this to be the case for my blog.  However, I then came to the realization that this new project of mine will have no chance to be what I want it to be if I do not make it at all! So here I am writing this first entry in my blog: “no rhyme or raisins”.

Why “no rhyme or raisins”?  I must give the title credit to my family. During my stage of anxiety of not being able to make my blog exactly what I desired it to be, I was completely stuck on what to name it.  I had almost everyone I knew trying to help me brainstorm and I was creating crazy lists of random words to describe myself and my taste in food.

Then, this past Sunday night, I was sitting around with my family after my grandfather’s 90th birthday party (!) and it happened.  My cousin Rachel and I had made bread pudding and I happened to get handed a piece with just a ton of raisins in it.  As you may have guessed from the title, I do not like raisins.  Just their texture and their taste and how they can hide all over the place so that you accidentally eat them –ick! Anyway, I naturally started picking out all of the raisins from my piece of bread pudding and by the time they were all removed there was just three little squares of the bread left on my plate.  I declared to my family how much I hate raisins.  My mom then excitedly suggested that my blog be called “no raisins”, like “no reasons”.  My aunt then added on: “how about no rhyme or raisins!?”, like “no rhyme or reason”.

In all of two seconds, the name grew on me.  I immediately texted Mike, whom I have discussed my previously imaginary blog with so much, and he confirmed my decision by responding with an enthusiastic text that it was perfect! So here it is, there is no rhyme to my posts and no raisins in my recipes… well, except maybe this bread pudding one that I am about to share with you.  Had I ever made this recipe by myself, I would omit the raisins, but my family claims it adds something.  It does add something: more work for me, picking each and every raisin out, before I can enjoy the bread pudding!

Recipe adapted from Simply Recipes via my lovely cousin Rachel.

How I eat it: light on the raisins, heavy on the bourbon sauce =)

I apologize that my first post does not have a picture to go along with the recipe, but the bread pudding was gobbled up before I realized that this absolutely had to be the first recipe on my blog since it was such a major contributor to my title! Anyway, please enjoy!

9 thoughts on “an ironic first recipe”

  1. I can personally attest to the deliciousness of this recipe, with or without raisins. Good luck on your blog Kaitlyn! I’ll be following you as soon as I figure out how!
    Love, Aunt Arleen
    PS: Love the blog title 😉

  2. So excited that you have gone ahead and committed to your food blog idea. Being one of the lucky ones who gets to enjoy so many of your delicious and creative entrees and delectable desserts I’m happy you have decided to share your love of cooking, baking and eating! with everyone.

  3. Well, I must say I am very impressed by the blogging and did I say food blogging I might add. I most definetly will follow your blog as I have a love for delicious food as well. I love to cook as my friends and family know so I hope to get some great receipes from you. Yours truely, Lisa

  4. Well. Kaitlyn, as usual you out did yourself. I have known for some time that you love to putter in the kitchen. I believe that your love to cook & bake is an inherited trait. Although after having to do it for close to 65 years now, I have had it.I’m so glad you are taking over, and I look forward to following your blog.
    Hugs & kisses, Oma

Leave a Reply

