quick, simple, & fresh: tomato, mozzarella, & pesto sandwiches

Sorry it’s been so long since I’ve last posted! I spent my 4th of July weekend upstate New York with Mike, his family, and no Internet access.  I also apologize that I do not have a festive Independence Day recipe to share with you.  I was so busy working before I went away that I did not have the time to bake something to bring up with me as I had planned.

The beautiful view in Sherburne, NY.

I had much to do the night before I left for upstate that I made myself a super quick dinner. And, although this is a completely Italian sandwich and does not contain the color blue – it does have red and white? Will you give me that?

Adapted from one of my favorite “condo” dinners ♥

How I eat it: on roasted garlic ciabatta sticks with slightly more mozzarella than tomato.

This is really such a great, simple, and quick lunch or dinner.  A caprese sandwich was always something I ordered at a café for lunch.  My favorite place to get them when I was living in Connecticut was Bread & Chocolate.  But, one day, my roommate and I decided to make homemade caprese sandwiches except with pesto instead of fresh basil.  Since then it’s one of my go-to dinners when I’m on my way to class or simply too busy to spend hours in the kitchen.

3 thoughts on “quick, simple, & fresh: tomato, mozzarella, & pesto sandwiches”

Leave a Reply

