potato leek soup

The crisp autumn air has finally arrived! I’ve been waiting for a little chill to make a warm, hearty soup.  Last Sunday seemed like a good day for a cozy meal.  I had the craving for vichyssoise (a cold potato leek soup) over the summer, but I never got around to it, so today I finally satisfied my craving with a nice, hot bowl of potato leek soup!

(I really liked this picture of my chopped leeks)

Last winter, I tried Ina Garten’s roasted potato leek soup.  It was good, but in my opinion the creme fraiche and the arugula overpowered the earthy potatoes and leeks. I decided to look for a recipe that really highlighted the main ingredients.  This recipe is combination of the really basic recipes that I found courtesy of Google.  So, thank you to the foodnetwork.com, allrecipes.com, and numerous food blogs for the inspiration. Many recipes use heavy cream to give the soup a nice rich, creamy flavor and texture.  I substituted heavy cream with half & half to make the soup a tad bit healthier while not totally eliminating the creamy goodness that I associate with potato leek soup.

Potato Leek Soup

Ingredients (serves 6-8)  

  • 2 tbsp. unsalted butter
  • 3 medium leeks, white and light green parts, cleaned, cut in half lengthwise, and thinly sliced
  • 1 white onion, chopped
  • 3 large cloves garlic, minced
  • 8 Yukon gold potatoes, washed and thinly sliced
  • 4 cups organic vegetable broth
  • 1 cup half & half
  • salt and pepper to taste


Method

Melt butter in a large saucepan or Dutch oven over medium heat.  Add the leeks and onions.  Stir until leeks and onions are tender and slightly browned, about 10 minutes.  Add garlic and saute for 2 minutes.

Add potatoes and stir to thoroughly combine with the leek mixture.  Add vegetable broth and cook over medium-low heat until potatoes are tender, stirring often. With a potato masher, mash potatoes until broken up into bite-sized pieces.  (If you prefer a pureed soup, this would be the point to place the mixture in a food processor and process until desired consistency.)

Add half & half and salt and pepper to taste and serve hot.

How I eat it: garnished with some chopped parsley (however, next time I’d like to sprinkle some Parmesan cheese on top!)

6 thoughts on “potato leek soup”

  1. Served this last night for a dinner party and got rave reviews!! Everyone wants the recipe. I did pureed the it. Delicious and very easy to make.

  2. This is so good! It is a relatively simple soup to put together, and with your ample pictures, the preparation of the ingredients go together quickly so you cook and it is done! I love how the sliced-thin potatoes cook fast and are ready to be mashed into this hearty soup!

Leave a Reply

