pan-seared scallops in herb butter sauce

So, I planned on blogging weekly this summer. As you can probably tell, that did not happen.  Here’s my excuse: I get things done when I’m under pressure. That’s just the way I am. If I have a million things to do, I will get a million and one things done. This summer I was a big bum with no job. (My excuse here being that I am starting a graduate program in Environmental Toxicology at NYU this fall and after a stressful year teaching high school I deserved a break ..maybe not a 3 month break, but a break!) So basically, since I was a bum, absolutely nothing got done until it really had to.  Even though I truly enjoy blogging, it’s a task, and I didn’t want to complete tasks. Trust me, I cooked A LOT and took a ton of pictures, but I never got around to actually posting everything. Anyway, enough ranting about my summer of extreme procrastination..

I’m sure many of you are feeling a bit grim that it is Labor Day weekend and the school year is upon us, but I am here to bring you one last taste of summer! My family and I first had this recipe at our neighbor’s house last summer and since then we have enjoyed it as a light and fresh sunday summer meal.  The local farmer’s market always has sea scallops (DO NOT use bay scallops – ick!) so we pick up about a pound of those along with a nice baguette and voila! add a salad and it’s a meal.

Pan-Seared Scallops in Herb Butter Sauce

Ingredients (serves 3)

Scallops:

  • 1 lb. large fresh sea scallops
  • 1 Tbs. unsalted butter
  • 1 Tbs. extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt and pepper

Herb Butter Sauce:

  • 3 Tbs. unsalted butter, cut into cubes
  • 2 Tbs. finely diced shallot
  • 1/4 c. white wine
  • 1 Tbsp. chopped fresh parsley
  • 1 Tbsp. chopped fresh rosemary
  • 1 Tbsp. chopped fresh chives
  • 1 Tbsp. chopped fresh thyme
  • 1/4 tsp. freshly grated lemon zest
  • Lemon wedges, for serving

Method

Rinse the scallops under cold water. Pat the scallops dry with paper towel. (If the scallops are not completely dry, you will not get a nice brown sear.) Season both sides of the scallops with salt and pepper.

Heat a cast-iron skillet over medium-high heat. Add the oil and butter and heat until butter is starting to brown. Place the scallops in the skillet in a single layer about 1 inch apart from each other. Sear until one side is browned (about 2-4 minutes). Using tongs, turn the scallops over and sear until the second side is browned (another 2-4 minutes). Transfer the scallops to a plate.

To make the sauce, lower the pan to medium heat and add half of the 3 Tbsp. of butter. Then add shallots and saute until tender (about 2 minutes). Add the wine and lower the heat to low. Simmer for 1-2 minutes. Add the herbs, lemon zest, and the rest of the butter.

Return scallops and accumulated juices to the pan and coat the scallops in the sauce. Serve immediately with lemon wedges on the side.

Recipe adapted from Fine Cooking

How I eat it: with fresh bread and salad on the side

 So a little note to end the post – enjoy every last bit of summer, but don’t dread the fall. Look forward to pumpkin spiced goodies and apple crisp! Embrace autumn as it settles in. (It’s my personal favorite!)

2 thoughts on “pan-seared scallops in herb butter sauce”

  1. Yum! What wonderful neighbors you must have! Haven’t had these in awhile. I’ ll have to get the chef to make them before summer’s over. xo Alexis

Leave a Reply

