layered lemon cheesecake

ready to eat

Happy Father’s Day (yesterday) to all those wonderful dads out there! Especially my dad, my hero who I can always count on, who I am so lucky to have spent yesterday with.  Those who know me well, know that I am ridiculously similar to my dad. And I’m pretty proud of that because he’s absolutely awesome.  First of all (and most pertinent to my blog) he loves a good meal.  One of my favorite things to do with my Dad is hang out at The Shack eating shrimp cocktail and clams on the half-shell and enjoying a Corona.  Did I mention my Dad also has awesome taste in music? We’ve gone to concerts and acoustic nights together and he is always one to burn me an awesome mix. He basically is one of the most cool dudes to hang out with and I consider myself pretty damn lucky.

me & my dad <3

Anyway, yesterday really was a great day relaxing with both of my parents (my mom is just as cool) out in the unpredicted, beautiful weather.  Spending a sunny, summer Sunday with my family always makes me feel like I am on vacation — laying out in the yard/pool until 3:30 until cocktail hour starts at 4 PM, and my dad blasting the Jimmy Buffet Pandora station the entire time.  We usually wrap up the night with a nice grilled meal, and when it a special occasion, I prepare a dessert.  Here is a great summer dessert made with homemade lemon curd. It is lemony and fresh and great topped with any berries you have on hand.  Plus, the recipe makes more lemon curd than the cake calls for, which is perfect for a yogurt, granola, and lemon curd parfait the next day!

squeezed up those lemonscustard ready for storing

Ingredients

homemade lemon curd

  • 3 lemons
  • 1-1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/4 lb. unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 4 extra large eggs
  • 1/2 cup lemon juice (3-4 lemons)
  • 1/8 teaspoon kosher salt

layered lemon cheesecake

  • 1-1/2 cups mascarpone cheese
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 cup prepared lemon curd
  • Kosher salt
  • 20 whole graham crackers
  • berries, for serving

Method

For the lemon curd:

With a vegetable peeler, remove the zest of three lemons being careful to avoid the white pith. Put the zest in a food processor fitted with a steel blade. Add sugar and pulse until lemon zest is finely incorporated into the sugar.

Cream the butter and beat in the lemon-sugar mixture. Add eggs, one at a time, and then add lemon juice and salt. Mix until combined. Pour the mixture into a two-quart saucepan and cook over low heat until thickened – about 10 minutes – stirring constantly. Remove from heat and cool or refrigerate.

For the cake:

Line a 9 x 5 loaf pan with plastic wrap, allowing about 4 inches of overhang.

In a large bowl, using an electric mixer, beat the mascarpone with the heavy cream at medium speed until smooth and firm. Fold in the lemon curd and a pinch of kosher salt with a spatula.

Spread 1/4-inch thick layer of the lemon cream on the bottom of the pan. Arrange a single layer of graham crackers on top, breaking to fit if necessary.  Repeat the layering, finishing with a final layer of cream.

Cover the cake with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 8 hours. Uncover, and invert cake onto a platter, removing plastic wrap. Serve with your favorite berries!

layering the cheesecake

Lemon curd recipe adapted from Ina Garten

Layered cheesecake recipe adapted from Food & Wine

How I eat it: with blueberries on top and a cup of coffee

yum!

2 thoughts on “layered lemon cheesecake”

  1. thanks for this one! i love lemons!! i just spent the week with my daughter and my Indian son-in-law, and they feast on limes for their seasonings. but give me lemons!!! i can’t wait to try this one! and i’ll have a coffee too!

Leave a Reply

