spicy brussel sprouts with lemon and parmesan

DSC_0931

I’ll admit it. I was always a typical kid who didn’t want to eat her brussel sprouts.  Actually, for a while I was one of those typical adults who didn’t really want to eat her brussel sprouts either. It was only a few years ago that I discovered that brussel sprouts actually can be delicious. And for those of you who are still skeptical of this veggie with a bad rap, I think I can turn you… if you try this recipe!

I am proud to take credit for this concoction myself. We had bought fresh brussel sprouts (don’t go for the bagged stuff) and we were unsure what to do with them.  Now putting bacon in the mix is always a good option, but in this case we were cooking kielbasa as the main so we wanted something lighter and fresher on the side.  I basically took a few of my favorite flavors, and things that we always have on hand and tossed ’em in a frying pan with the sprouts — super easy and super quick! Also, I like my veggies a little more al dente, and sautéing doesn’t get rid of that fresh crunch! And if you are a fan of more well-done vegetables, no problem — just leave them in the pan for longer over lower heat.

chopped up DSC_0887

spicy brussel sprouts with lemon and parmesan

Ingredients

  • 1 lb. fresh brussel sprouts, cleaned and quartered
  • 1 Tbsp. butter
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 5 large cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp. red pepper
  • juice from half a lemon (~1/4 cup)
  • 2 Tbsp. freshly grated parmesan
  • salt and pepper to taste

Method

Heat the butter and olive oil in a large sauté pan over medium heat.  Once shimmering and before butter browns, add minced garlic.  Saute for one minute until garlic is tender; do not let it burn.  Add brussel sprouts and season with salt, pepper, red pepper, and lemon juice.  Cook until sprouts start to crisp up, 7-10 minutes. Top with parmesan cheese and serve hot!

frying em upHow I eat it: in bulk

A “no rhyme or raisins” original

freshly prepped

Leave a Reply

